Zucchini Bread

   

There was a lot of rain so far this year and the zucchini’s grew much bigger than usual. I don’t usually eat zucchini but I will eat zucchini bread. It tastes like carrot cake to me and I love carrot cake. One big zucchini will make 2 loaves of bread… I know this because I just made some yesterday and it turned out awesome 😉

Ingredients: (this will make 2 loaves )

  • 3- 1/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 1- 1/2 teaspoons of salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 3 cups sugar
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 4 beaten eggs
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 2 cups of seeded, grated zucchini
  • 1 teaspoon lemon juice
  • 1 cup of chopped walnuts or pecans

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 500*
  2. In a large bowl mix all dry ingredients together
  3. In a separate bowl mix together all wet ingredients
  4. Slowly add wet ingredients into the dry
  5. After the mix is blended well fold in the cup of nuts
  6. Use cooking spray or grease 2 standard loaf pans
  7. Pour equal amounts into pans and bake for one hour.

It is optional but I always buy cream cheese icing and either drizzle over the top after its cooled (I do this by placing the icing in a small baggie and making a very tiny hole in a corner to squeeze it out of ) or I just smear it on like a cake … but that’s the sugar junkie in me 🙂 Some people even add a cup of chocolate chips for the kids……enjoy !!

Leave a Reply

