Guinness Corned Beef with Cabbage in a Crock Pot

Image

As much as I enjoy corned Beef I have to unfortunately say really .. I mostly only make it around St. Patrick’s Day. Sad and cliche …but true. I have neighbors who are Irish and they mentioned making corned beef, and they said “make sure you use Guinness.”  Why I had never thought of using it is beyond me. It is one of my favorite beers…. and although it tastes different in Ireland it’s still good enough here. Then I recived an e-mail the very next day from a cooking blog I follow and she said “dont forget the Guinness” … so it was destiny … I tried it , really liked the flavor it added and I have to say it’s the only way I will cook it from now on…….

Ingredients:

3-5lb Corned Beef w/ pickling spices

2 cans of Guinness Draught  (do not use Stout it is too bitter)

4 tbsp of Dark Brown Sugar

1 small head of cabbage

1 bag baby carrots

1 medium sweet onion

5-6 red potatoes

a few pats of butter

Directions:

Turn on the crock pot to the 6 or 8hr setting.

Save 1 cup of Guinness and set aside.

Pour the rest of the Guinness into the bottom (if using a 3lb beef just use one can and 2 tbps sugar, if using 4lb or over use the full recipe)

Add Dark Brown Sugar and mix well.

Now add the small pack of pickling spices that usually come with the Corned Beef, or add 1 1/2 tsp of your own if it did not accompany the beef.

Wedge the cabbage in 4 quarters and lay in the bottom.

Cut Potatoes in large chunks or halves and add to bottom with cabbage .

Lay corned beef on top of the cabbage and potatoes, pour the reserved cup of Guinness on the Corned Beef.

Add the small bag of baby carrots around the beef, and top with a few pats of butter.

Put the lid on and never take it off until your ready to eat … enjoy !

I also want to add that it is even better the next day 🙂

Leave a Reply

