Maryland Crab Dip

p-crab-dip

 

Now that I am living in Maryland on the Chesapeake Bay  half of the year,  I find myself liking crab a tad more. Im still not a big “picker” but I do enjoy lump crab to add to soups , dips, and stuffings. I think crab dip has to be one of my favorites …. I usually don’t even want to share. I do truly believe that your only making it right if you are making it from a Maryland recipe.

Ingredients:

  • 3/4  cup  sour cream
  • 8 0z of plain cream cheese
  • 1 tablespoon Worcestershire Sauce
  • 2 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon
  • 1 tablespoon grated onion
  • 1/2 teaspoon of mustard
  • 1/4 teaspoon of garlic powder (do not use garlic salt)
  • 1 pound lump crabmeat
  • 3/4 cup sharp, or reg cheddar cheese ( I use sharp )
  • Old Bay or J. O. ‘s seasoning

Directions:

  1. Mix together sour cream, onion, Worcestershire,  mustard, garlic powder, lemon juice, and cream cheese. Mix really well.

  2. Fold in cheddar cheese and lump crabmeat. ( Save just a little cheese to sprinkle on top )

  3. Spoon mixture into an oven safe dish and sprinkle top with some cheese, plus J. O.  or Old Bay Seasoning.

  4. Bake at 325 * for 35 minutes uncovered.

Serve in a small bread bowl or just in the dish with crackers or toasted breads ….. enjoy !!!

 

Leave a Reply

